Achieving Dreams

 Please join us 

When:     Thursday, October 2, 2014
Where:    St. George's Fellowship Hall
               3204 Ridgewood Road • Akron, OH 44321
Tickets:  $100.00
                (VIP- includes pre-event reception & program listing)
                (General Admission)
Event Chairpersons:  Judi Hill and Stephanie "Stevie" Turner

2012 Honorees - Buchtel Alumni


Event Sponsors (as of 10/09/12)    

 Presenting Sponsor  

• Dianne Rubin Newman, Esq. and Herbert Newman, Esq.  

Scholar Sponsor

Kent State University's eight-campus system serves both the development of a true living/learning approach at the Kent Campus and the regional needs. The Kent Campus provides the resources and facilities of a large, diverse Ohio university, while the Regional Campuses–Kent State University at Ashtabula, Kent State University at East Liverpool, Kent State University at Geauga, Kent State University at Salem, Kent State University at Stark, Kent State University at Trumbull, and Kent State University at Tuscarawas - offer the friendly, casual atmosphere of small liberal arts colleges.

Achiever Sponsors

Together, we are making a difference in our Communities. The difference speaks volumes about who we are, what we value, and the real legacy we want to leave for the next generation. At OMNOVA Solutions that's how we feel about community involvement, and it's part of the fabric of the way we do business. Our gifts of money, time, talents help demonstrate our ongoing commitment to the communities where we work and live.

Mentor Sponsors 

• Akron Children's Hospital
• Summa Health System 

Collaborator Sponsors

• AT&T
• Akron General Health System
• Buckeye Community Health Plan
• Eileen Burg
• Dr. Gregory and Mrs. Judi Hill
• Maynard Family Foundation
• Roger and Judy Read
• State and Federal Communications
• Stewart & Calhoun Funeral Home

Media Sponsor

•Akron Beacon Journal

 Project GRAD Akron's Achieving Dreams Celebrations - Past Events, Speakers, and Honorees





2011 Achieving Dreams Celebration - 5th Annual

Date:  October 27, 2011
Location:  Quaker Station
Event Chairpersons:  Judi Bevly Hill & Margaret E. Williams
Honorary Chairperson:  Eileen Burg
Community Service Honoree
• Tuesday Musical Association - Barbara Feld, Executive Director
Distinguished Service to Humanity - Buchtel Alumni
• Gregory Hill, DO
• Kymberly "Kym" Alford Sellers
• Victoria Turner-King
Young Alumni Honoree - Buchtel Alumni
• Brandon Ford, RN, Esq.
Lifetime Achievement Honorees - Buchtel Alumni
• Melodie Morgan-Minott, MD
• Dianne Rubin Newman
• Herbert Newman, Esq.
• Judy Licklider Read & Roger Read

2010 Achieving Dreams Celebration  - 4th Annual

Date:  October 28, 2010 
Location:  Quaker Station
Event Chairpersons:  Judi Bevly Hill & Margaret E. Williams
Honorary Chairperson:  Eileen Burg
Honorees - Celebrating Buchtel Alumni
Distinguished Service to Humanity
• Betty Dalton
• Fred Gissendaner
• Gail C. Walker
Young Alumni Honoree
• Raynese Scott Fikes, DDS
Lifetime Achievement
• Nicholas T. George, Esq.
• Judge Carla D. Moore 
• Edwin L. Parms, Esq.

2009 Achieving Dreams Celebration - 3rd Annual

Date:  October 22, 2009
Location:  Quaker Station
Event Chairperson:  Debra Adams Simmons
Keynote Speaker:  Dr. David L. Burnham (Buchtel graduate)
Honorees - Partnering to Achieve the Dream - Celebrating our Partners
Kent State University's Top Honoree
• Scott Curfman
The University of Akron's Top Honoree
• Dr. Deborah Owens-Fink
  Additional persons were recognized from various departments at both universities. 

2008 Achieving Dreams Celebration - 2nd Annual

Date:  October 3, 2008
Location:  Quaker Station
Event Chairperson:  Jacqueline Silas-Butler
Honorary Chairpersons:  Robert W. Briggs & Vivian Celeste Neal
Keynote Speaker:  Glynis Wheeler Redwine, Esq. (Buchtel graduate)
Project GRAD Akron Educator of the Year
• Dreama Mason
Project GRAD Akron Parent of the Year
• Pamela LeGrair
Project GRAD Akron Volunteers of the Year
• Deborah Cunningham
• Buchtel High School PTA - Diana Autry, President

2007 Achieving Dreams Celebration - 1st Annual

Date:  October 24, 2007
Location:  Tangier
Event Chairperson:  S. Theresa Carter
Honorary Chairpersons:  Dr. Luis Proenza & Dr. Sylvester Small
Keynote Speaker:  Leon Harris (Buchtel graduate)
Project GRAD Akron Educator of the Year
• Johnnette Snowden Curry
Project GRAD Akron Parent of the Year
• Russel C. Neal, Jr.
Project GRAD Akron Volunteers of the Year
• James E. Toles and Susan Vogelsang

2012 Photo Gallery

 Students Programs Support Us

2011 Photos

Bennett L. Gains Eileen Burg ~ Honorary Chariperson and Judi Hill ~ Leadership Committee Kymberly Alford Sellers- Distinguished Service to Humanity Honoree Lee Gill, J.D., Associate VP for Inclusion & Chief Equity Diversity Officer, University of Akron Special Guest of Honor - Her Excellency, Ambassador Amina Salum Ali Dr. Ramona Ortega-Liston, Jacqueline Silas-Butler, Ambassador Amina Salum Ali, Lee Gill, & Graduate Student Debra North Sommerville bidding on auction items Tuesday Musical Association - 2011 Community Service Honoree - Barbara Feld, Executive Director 2011 Young Alumni Honoree ~ Brandon Ford, RN, Esq. 2011 Distinguished Service to Humanity Honoree ~ Kymberly Alford Sellers 2011 Distinguished Service to Humanity Honoree ~ Victoria Turner-King 2011 Lifetime Achievement Honorees~Dianne Rubin Newman, Esq. & Herbert Newman, Esq. 2011 Achieving Dreams Honorees